Sunday Brunch

… a feast of photography and prose.

In the Silent Hours of the Night, Bless the Lord

It’s 3 a.m. and there is a sliver of a moon outside.  It is so quiet.  I’ve taken to enjoying moments like this since I read an article titled “The Myth of the Eight Hour Sleep.”  Research indicates that a period of wakefulness between two sleep cycles may be natural, and literature from various periods in history backs this up.

When I first learned about segmented sleep, I immediately thought of two things:

First, I thought of Mom complaining about Dad.  “I roll over in the middle of the night,” she laments, “and there he is with his iPhone – ” at this point she dramatizes this by scrunching her brow, placing her palm close to her face and squinting  – “staring at the little glowing screen.”  Then Dad shrugs apologetically and decides whether the mood is right for a retort about Mom’s snoring.

Second, I thought of an antiphon from the Liturgy of the Hours that accompanies Psalm 134: “In the silent hours of the night, bless the Lord.”  Segmented sleep enfleshes this antiphon, and contextualizes the longstanding tradition of early morning monastic prayer.  (I spent a summer at a Benedictine abbey where nuns gathered for optional Matins at 2 a.m.  The nuns poked fun at Mother Stephen, who would valiantly attend and inevitably slip into slumber in her stall.)

Now, when I awake without prompting in the middle of the night, I don’t fret about going back to sleep right away.  I say the antiphon.  I relish the stillness.

qhn

Lake Cayuga, 2012

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 28, 2013 by .
